We had a highly eventful day at Fontwell yesterday.....! Alanjou ran a blinder in the juvenile to be 2nd - a bad mistake at the second last cost him the race as he only went down by 2 lengths - however, it was a nice first run for us, and he should win his fair share of races through the winter months. I'm chuffed for the Cherry Pickers who largely consist of ex Kings Royal Hussars. Lucys Girl ran well enough on rain softened ground and was only beaten 7 lengths. She just failed to see the trip out in that ground, but should win again on some better ground.
The controversy all happened in the bumper where Centoria won on her racecourse debut - she travelled well and looked the winner from some way out, but unfortunately ran a bit green inside the final furlong and squeezed the runner up onto the rail, and was demoted in the stewards room afterwards. I strongly believe that was a poor decision by the stewards, as we won by over a length, and the rule clearly states:
"The stewards have to decide whether the sufferer WOULD have beaten the interferer but for the interference." The answer to this question is NO. Therefore I'm going to speak to my solicitors, as we might well appeal it.